Aug 31, 2013 at 2.30pm UK at ​Imtech Arena
Hamburger SV
BraunschweigEintracht Braunschweig
van der Vaart (7'), Zoua (17'), Calhanoglu (80', 90')
Zoua (87')
FT(HT: 2-0)

Bicakcic (32'), Theuerkauf (56'), Bellarabi (60'), Jackson (64')

Result: Hamburger SV beat Eintracht Braunschweig for first win

Hamburg's Rafael van der Vaart celebrates after scoring the equaliser against Schalke on August 11, 2013
© Getty Images
Rafael van der Vaart helps Hamburger SV earn their first win of the season in a 4-0 success over Eintracht Braunschweig.

Hamburger SV have recorded their first win of the season this afternoon against Eintracht Braunschweig, condemning the visitors to a fourth successive defeat of the campaign.

Hamburg started brightly and were ahead after seven minutes through Rafael van der Vaart, who slid in to turn Maximilian Beister's deflected cross into the bottom corner.

Beister was then involved again to help Hamburg double their advantage 10 minutes later, flicking on for Jacques Zoua to get his first for the club from close range.

Braunshweig struggled for a way back into the match, with Dominick Kumbela and Simeon Jackson isolated in attack throughout the first half.

The hosts controlled possession in the second half and put the result beyond doubt with a third goal 20 minutes from time.

Hakan Calhanoglu was the man who got it, capitalising on a mistake from Eintracht goalkeeper Daniel Davari to ease the pressure on Hamburg coach Thorsten Fink.

Calhanoglu added gloss to the scoreline in stoppage time, making a wave of late pressure count to kick-start Hamburg's campaign.

Johan Djourou of Switzerland lines up ahead of the International Friendly match between Greece and Switzerland at Karaiskakis Stadium on February 6, 2013
Read Next:
Team News: Djourou makes Hamburg debut
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Borussia DortmundDortmund11003033
2Bayern Munich11003123
3Hertha Berlin11002023
4Schalke 04Schalke11002023
6Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach11001013
7Hamburger SV11001013
9Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt10100001
12FC Koln100101-10
13Mainz 05100101-10
14Werder Bremen100101-10
15Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen100113-20
16RB Leipzig100102-20