Oct 6, 2012 at 2.30pm UK at ​Mage-Solar-Stadion
Makiadi (36'), Caligiuri (90' pen.), Terrazzino (90')
Mujdza (37'), Jendrisek (60'), Schuster (86')
FT(HT: 1-0)

Horacio Pinola (35'), Schäfer (79'), Chandler (90')

Result: Freiburg 3-0 Nuremberg

Goals from Cedric Makiadi, Daniel Caligiuri and Marco Terrazzino see Freiburg defeat Nuremberg 3-0 at home.

Freiburg scored twice in injury time to defeat Nuremberg 3-0 at home in their Bundesliga clash on Saturday.

The visitors made the brighter start of the two sides, with Tomas Pekhart going close with a header from close range after just two minutes.

Timm Klose too came close to scoring for Nurnberg in the ninth minute when his header from a Hiroshi Kiyotake delivery went just wide.

Freiburg, though, took their chance in the 36th minute to go ahead in front of their own supporters when Cedric Makiadi headed home from just yards out.

Pekhart had his effort in the 38th minute from a Kiyotake cross saved by Oliver Baumann in the Freiburg goal.

Kiyotake himself had a chance on the stroke of half-time, but he was denied by Baumann.

After the break, it was Freiburg who started taking control of the proceedings at the Mage Solar Stadion, with Erik Jendrisek forcing Raphael Schafer into making a good save in the 46th minute.

Jendrisek tested the Nurnberg goalkeeper again in the 52nd minute when he shot Jonathan Schmid's cross on target.

Freiburg eventually scored their second goal of the afternoon in the second minute of injury time from the penalty spot.

Timothy Chandler's challenge on Daniel Caligiuri inside his own 18-yard box saw the referee point to the spot, and Caligiuri himself slotted home the penalty.

A minute later Freiburg scored their third goal of the match when Makiadi teed up Marco Terrazzino for a fierce shot into the Nuremberg goal from outside the box.

New generic football image
Read Next:
Team News: Freiburg vs. Nuremberg
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Borussia DortmundDortmund11003033
2Bayern Munich11003123
3Hertha Berlin11002023
4Schalke 04Schalke11002023
6Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach11001013
7Hamburger SV11001013
9Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt10100001
12FC Koln100101-10
13Mainz 05100101-10
14Werder Bremen100101-10
15Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen100113-20
16RB Leipzig100102-20