Sep 27, 2014 at 9pm UK at ​San Mames
Athletic Bilbao

Aduriz (4'), Iraola (41'), Balenziaga (56'), Rico (79'), Muniain (92')

Boveda (21'), Errasti (25'), Arruabarrena (38'), Capa (53'), Navas (53'), Angel (92')

Result: Athletic Bilbao held to goalless draw by Eibar

Ander Iturraspe of Athletic Bilbao in action during the first leg of UEFA Champions League qualifying play-offs round match between SSC Napoli and Athletic Club on August 19, 2014
© Getty Images
Athletic Bilbao and Eibar play out a goalless draw in the Basque derby in La Liga to leave Ernesto Valverde's side in the bottom three.

Athletic Bilbao have been held to a goalless draw by Basque rivals Eibar to remain with just one win to their name in La Liga this season.

In what was feisty local derby which saw a total of 11 yellow cards, chances in the first half were few and far between, with Mikel Arruabarrena's strike the closest either side came to making a breakthrough.

Borja Viguera almost gave Bilbao the lead on 50 minutes when he powered his header goalwards, but his effort ended narrowly over the bar.

The visitors continued to push for an opener, and Xabi Irureta was forced into action on the hour to keep out Aritz Aduriz's deflected shot.

Ander Capa saw his strike fly narrowly over the target, while Iker Muniain was himself within inches of giving his side a second-half lead.

The last chance of the game fell to Bilbao's Gomez Perez Ibai, whose long-range effort looked to be heading for the back of the net, but much like a lot of the previous efforts the ball flew marginally wide of the post.

Bilbao are 15th in the league table following this stalemate, while Eibar are in eighth.

Eibar's midfielder Javier Lara vies with Real Sociedad's forward Esteban Granero during the Spanish league football match SD Eibar vs Real Sociedad at the Ipurua stadium in Eibar on August 24, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Eibar off and running in La Liga
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2Athletic Bilbao00000000
3Atletico MadridAtletico00000000
5Celta Vigo00000000
6Deportivo La CorunaDeportivo00000000
11Las PalmasLas Palmas00000000
15Real Betis00000000
16Real Madrid00000000
17Real Sociedad00000000