'Match of the Day' magazine announces player awards

Glenn Murray
© PA Photos
Match of the Day magazine announces the winners of its player, manager and goal of the year awards for the Football League.

Crystal Palace striker Glenn Murray has been named as the Championship Player of the Year award by Match of the Day magazine.

The forward has scored 29 goals for the Eagles this season to make him the stand-out candidate for the award, while Doncaster Rovers winger David Cotterill and Port Vale's Tom Pope were the winners for League One and League Two respectively.

Blackpool striker Thomas Ince won the Young Player of the Year award for the Championship, with Adam Forshaw winning in League One and Britt Assombalonga earning recognition for his performances in League Two.

Cardiff City manager Malky Mackay was named as manager of the year for the Championship, while Nottingham Forest's Simon Cox won the Goal of the Season award for his effort against Birmingham City.

Port Vale manager Micky Adams during the match against Gillingham on January 12, 2013
Read Next:
Adams praises Hughes, Pope partnership
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole