Ian Holloway: 'Wilfried Zaha is not a cheat'

Crystal Palace player Wilfried Zaha is booked for diving in his sides FA Cup third round replay on January 15, 2013
© PA Photos
Ian Holloway says that Wilfried Zaha is not a cheat after the Crystal Palace star was booked for diving.

Crystal Palace manager Ian Holloway has slammed referee Anthony Taylor for showing a yellow card to Wilfried Zaha for diving during their FA Cup clash on Tuesday.

The Championship outfit crashed out of the cup, after losing 4-1 to Stoke City after extra-time in their third-round replay at the Britannia Stadium.

Zaha, who has been linked with a move to Arsenal and Manchester United, was booked for going down in the penalty area in the first half; a decision that angered his boss.

"There is only one thing that saddens me - that the referee dishes out a yellow card to my player who actually beats someone and got caught," said Holloway.

"We had to bring him off [at half time] because his ankle was hurt - did he make that up as well?

"I don't think so, but Wilfried Zaha has been labelled a cheat."

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson was scheduled to attend that match, but did not show up.

Peter Crouch is substituted after picking up an injury against Newcastle on November 28, 2012
Read Next:
Team News: Crouch back in Stoke lineup
>
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole



Tables
LIVE SCORES VIDEPRINTER
expand