Thomas Davis, Charles Tillman, Jay Feely nominated for Walter Payton award

Thomas Davis of the Carolina Panthers during their game with Seattle at Bank of America Stadium on September 8, 2013
© Getty Images
Thomas Davis, Jay Feely and Charles Tillman are named as finalists for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award.

A trio of players have been nominated as the finalists for this season's Walter Payton NFL Man of Year award.

Carolina Panthers linebacker Thomas Davis, Arizona Cardinals kicker Jay Feely and Chicago Bears cornerback Charles Tillman were chosen from the 32 team nominees and will each receive a $5,000 (£3,043) donation to a charity of their choice.

The Walter Payton award is named in honour of the Hall of Fame running back and acknowledges a player's contribution both on and off the field, taking into account their community service as well as their playing performances.

The winner will receive a $20,000 (£12,175) donation in his name to a chosen charity, with the decision being announced during the NFL Honours show the night before the Super Bowl.

Current NFL commissioner Roger Goodell is among those on the seven-person selection panel, alongside 2012 winner Jason Witten of the Dallas Cowboys.

Carolina Panthers' Luke Kuechly during the match against Oakland Raiders on December 23, 2012
Read Next:
Kuechly: 'I've had to make lots of adjustments'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole