Dec 7, 2013 at 2.30pm UK at ​Borussia-Park
Borussia M'bachBorussia Monchengladbach
SchalkeSchalke 04
Raffael (25'), Kruse (45' pen.)
Korb (17')
FT(HT: 2-1)
Farfan (16' pen.)
Howedes (34'), Uchida (67'), Meyer (72'), Neustadter (80')
Howedes (45')

Result: Borussia Monchengladbach edge out 10-man Schalke 04

Moenchengladbach's Brazilian midfielder Raffael celebrates scoring the 1-0 during the German first division Bundesliga football match Borussia Moenchengladbach vs SC Freiburg in the German city of Moenchengladbach on December 1, 2013
© Getty Images
Borussia Monchengladbach beat Schalke 04 2-1 in the Bundesliga, with the visitors reduced to 10 men.

Borussia Monchengladbach have maintained their 100% home start to the season with a narrow 2-1 win over Schalke 04.

Juan Arango tested his shooting boots from distance early on, but his strike went straight into the arms of Ralf Fahrmann.

The game did not wait too much longer for a goal as the opener arrived on 17 minutes. However, it went to the away team from the spot as Jefferson Farfan converted after Kevin-Prince Boateng was fouled by Julian Korb.

On 25 minutes the hosts were spectacularly level. Tony Jantschke found Raffael, who rifled a shot into the top corner from just outside the box with his left foot.

The game changed on the stroke of half time. Benedikt Howedes received his second yellow card and his marching orders for handball, before Max Kruse stepped up to put his side in front from the spot.

The hosts peppered the visitors' goal in the second half, but could not find another goal and indeed could have thrown away the points late on when Boateng's header was well saved late on.

Schalke's midfielder Kevin Prince Boateng, Schalke's Peruvian striker Jefferson Farfan and Schalke's striker Adam Szalai celebrate scoring during the German first division Bundesliga football match FC Schalke 04 vs Bayer Leverkusen in the western German c
Read Next:
Team News: Szalai dropped again for Schalke
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen00000000
3Bayern Munich00000000
4Borussia DortmundDortmund00000000
5Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach00000000
6Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt00000000
7FC Koln00000000
9Hamburger SV00000000
11Hertha Berlin00000000
13Mainz 0500000000
14RB Leipzig00000000
15Schalke 04Schalke00000000
17Werder Bremen00000000