Result: Borussia Dortmund cruise into Champions League last eight

Dortmund's Mario Gotze scores a goal against Werder Bremen on January 19, 2013
© AP Photos
A comfortable 5-2 aggregate victory over Shakhtar Donetsk sees Borussia Dortmund progress to the Champions League last eight for the first time in 15 years.

Borussia Dortmund have reached the quarter-finals of the Champions League for the first time since 1998 with a 5-2 aggregate win over Shakhtar Donetsk.

A late Mats Hummels strike in the reverse fixture a fortnight ago gave Dortmund two away goals and a slender advantage heading into their last-16 clash at Westfalenstadion.

However, that never proved to be decisive as the Germans cruised to a 3-0 second-leg victory, with Felipe Santana, Mario Gotze and Jakub Blaszczykowski on the scoresheet.

Following an incident-free opening half hour, Santana headed Dortmund clear in the tie with a powerful header from Gotze's corner.

The Germany international soon added a goal to his assist when he found space in the box to calmly convert from Robert Lewandowski's cross.

Lewandowski's Poland teammate made the result emphatic just prior to the hour mark, when Andriy Pyatov spilled a long-range shot and allowed Blaszczykowski to tap in the rebound.

Despite being all but out of the contest, Shakhtar enjoyed their best spell of the match in the final 20 minutes.

Luis Adriano, Fernandindo and Yaroslav Rakitskiy were all denied by home keeper Roman Weidenfeller as the visitors failed to find a consolation goal.

Shaktar Donetsk coach Mircea Lucescu and Dortmund coach Jurgen Klopp before their sides clash on February 13, 2013
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Borussia Dortmund (5)3-0(2) Shakhtar Donetsk - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Borussia DortmundDortmund11003033
2Bayern Munich11003123
3Hertha Berlin11002023
4Schalke 04Schalke11002023
6Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach11001013
7Hamburger SV11001013
9Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt10100001
12FC Koln100101-10
13Mainz 05100101-10
14Werder Bremen100101-10
15Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen100113-20
16RB Leipzig100102-20