Aug 17, 2014 at 3pm UK at ​Preussen-Stadion
Preussen Munster
Bayern Munich
Krohne (89' pen.)
Heitmeier (91')
FT(HT: 0-2)
Gotze (19'), Muller (29'), Alaba (52'), Pizarro (73')
Shaqiri (37')

Result: Bayern Munich stroll into second round of German Cup

Bayern Munich's Polish striker Robert Lewandowski plays during the Telekom Cup final football match FC Bayern Munich vs Wolfsburg in the norhtern German city of Hamburg on July 27, 2014
© Getty Images
Bayern Munich beat Preussen Munster 4-1 to book their place in the second round of the German Cup.

Bayern Munich have begun the defence of their DFB-Pokal crown with a comfortable 4-1 victory over minnows Preussen Munster this afternoon.

The visiting side made the breakthrough with 23 minutes on the clock courtesy of Mario Gotze, who headed home Robert Lewandowski's cross.

The Polish striker, who officially joined Bayern this summer from German rivals Borussia Dortmund, almost got his name on the scoresheet moments later, but he was well kept out by the Munster defence.

The Bundesliga champions did not have to wait long for a second, however, with Thomas Muller finding the back of the net after the ball ricocheted into his path.

David Alaba's thumping strike made certain of the victory six minutes after the restart, while Claudio Pizarro added the fourth late on.

Rogier Krohne did managed to pull a goal back for the third-tier side on 88 minutes, and the drama did not end there as Marc Heitmeier was shown a red card for hauling down Lewandowski at the death, but the striker missed the resulting penalty.

Bayern Munich's Dutch midfielder Arjen Robben celebrates with teammates during the German first division Bundesliga football match Hamburger SV vs FC Bayern Munich in Hamburg, northern Germany, on May 3, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Bayern thrash lowly Hamburger
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen00000000
3Bayern Munich00000000
4Borussia DortmundDortmund00000000
5Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach00000000
6Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt00000000
7FC Koln00000000
9Hamburger SV00000000
11Hertha Berlin00000000
13Mainz 0500000000
14RB Leipzig00000000
15Schalke 04Schalke00000000
17Werder Bremen00000000