On this day: Porto win first European Cup

Retired Algerian footballer Rabah Madjer in action during a charity match on November 08, 2011.
© Getty Images
Twenty-seven years ago today, Porto win the European Cup for the first time by defeating Bayern Munich 2-1 in the final.

Rumour has it that so confident was Bayern Munich club president Fritz Scherer that his side would win the 1987 European Cup final, he had already written a victory speech before the match got underway.

The reason behind such confidence was not only the fact that Bayern had defeated six-time European champions Real Madrid in the semi-finals, but also because in the final, which was played in Vienna 27 years ago today, their opponents were Porto, who had struggled to make much of an impact outside of Portugal.

So, when Bayern midfielder Ludwig Kogl gave the German side the lead in the 25th minute, it appeared that the contest was going with the script.

However, whatever Artur Jorge said to his Porto players during the 15-minute interval, it worked. There was much more attacking intent about The Dragons, although it appeared that their domination was going to go unrewarded. That was, until a moment of inspiration with 12 minutes left to play.

As Bayern goalkeeper Jean-Marie Pfaff raced off his line, the ball broke for Porto frontman Rabah Madjer with his back to goal. Instead of swivelling to create the room for a shot, the Algerian, who made Sports Mole's list of the top 10 players of all time from his nation recently, back-heeled the ball into the bottom corner of the net from six yards out.

Then, just two minutes later, Madjer turned provider as Porto took the lead. It was his cross that picked out Brazilian substitute Juary to fire the ball into the roof of the Bayern net.

It prompted a late onslaught from the Bundesliga outfit, but Porto held firm to lift the European Cup for the first time in their history. It's a feat that would not be repeated until the days of Jose Mourinho in 2004.

BAYERN: Pfaff; Winklhofer, Pflugler, Eder, Nachtweih; Brehme, Flick, Matthaus; Hoeness, Rummenigge, Kogl

PORTO: Mlynarczyk; Pinto, Inacio, Luis, Celso; Quim, Andre, Futre, Magalhaes; Madjer, Sousa

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer celebrates scoring the winning goal in the Champions League final for Manchester United on May 26, 1999.
Read Next:
OTD: Man United win unprecedented treble
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Borussia DortmundDortmund11003033
2Bayern Munich11003123
3Hertha Berlin11002023
4Schalke 04Schalke11002023
6Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach11001013
7Hamburger SV11001013
9Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt10100001
12FC Koln100101-10
13Mainz 05100101-10
14Werder Bremen100101-10
15Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen100113-20
16RB Leipzig100102-20