Uli Hoeness: 'Cristiano Ronaldo cannot beat Franck Ribery to Ballon d'Or'

Bayern's Franck Ribery celebrates his goal in the UEFA Super Cup with manager Pep Guardiola on August 30, 2013
© Getty Images
Bayern president Uli Hoeness says that he would be nonplussed if Franck Ribery loses out on the Ballon d'Or to Cristiano Ronaldo next month.

Bayern Munich president Uli Hoeness has revealed that he would be at a loss for words should Cristiano Ronaldo pip Franck Ribery to the Ballon d'Or award.

Both stars are said to be frontrunners for the game's most coveted individual prize - along with Lionel Messi - for their exploits in 2013, with the Portuguese hitting 66 goals for club and country, while the 30-year-old helped the Bavarians to an unprecedented treble last season.

Ronaldo is thought to have established himself as favourite for the gong due to his four-goal haul in sealing Portugal's World Cup ticket over Sweden last month, which Hoeness describes as "one game".

Ribery was crowned UEFA's Best Player in Europe in September, and the 61-year-old says "nothing has changed" on the field since then.

Speaking to Bild, the German chief said: "Ronaldo has, of course, contributed significantly to the fact that Portugal has qualified for the World Cup.

"But I would have absolutely no understanding of the situation if Franck did not win the Ballon d'Or after being named [UEFA's] Best Player in Europe. There is a whole year to be judged - not just one game.

"I feel that public opinion has shifted. But, in the meantime, for me, nothing has changed. There can be only Ribery as the winner [of the Ballon d'Or]."

The winner of the award is scheduled to be announced at a FIFA ceremony in Zurich next month.

German head coach Joachim Loew attends the FIFA 2014 World Cup Group C qualifying football match Germany vs Republic of Ireland in Cologne, western Germany on October 11, 2013
Read Next:
Low decides against Ballon d'Or vote
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen00000000
3Bayern Munich00000000
4Borussia DortmundDortmund00000000
5Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach00000000
6Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt00000000
7FC Koln00000000
9Hamburger SV00000000
11Hertha Berlin00000000
13Mainz 0500000000
14RB Leipzig00000000
15Schalke 04Schalke00000000
17Werder Bremen00000000