Aug 30, 2013 at 7.45pm UK at ​Allianz Arena
Bayern Munich
Ribery (47'), Martinez (120')
Ribery (23'), Boateng (84')
FT(HT: 0-1)
Torres (8'), Hazard (93')
Cahill (41'), Ramires (64'), Luiz (66'), Torres (89')
Ramires (85')
Bayern Munich win 5-4 on penalties

Pep Guardiola rejects Jose Mourinho claims

Bayern's Franck Ribery celebrates his goal in the UEFA Super Cup with manager Pep Guardiola on August 30, 2013
© Getty Images
Bayern Munich coach Pep Guardiola rejects Jose Mourinho's opinion that Chelsea deserved UEFA Super Cup success, insisting that his side were the better team in Prague.

Bayern Munich coach Pep Guardiola has declared that his side were worthy winners of a dramatic UEFA Super Cup tonight, rejecting Jose Mourinho's opinion that Chelsea were the better side in Prague.

Guardiola's side eventually prevailed 5-4 in a penalty shootout to decide European football's traditional curtain raiser, after Javi Martinez had equalised with the last kick of extra time.

The Spaniard believes that Bayern controlled possession and merited their success thanks to an attacking, positive approach throughout 120 minutes of play.

He told Sky Sports News when presented with Mourinho's claims: "It's his opinion. It's normal, he can say that his team deserved better than what happened.

"I have too my opinion and my opinion after what we have played, we have our behaviour, we have played so, so well; with the ball, without the ball.

"We have played unbelievably good football. The best team won today. We had so many opportunities to score."

Victory in the final earned Guardiola his first piece of silverware since arriving at the Allianz Arena in June, while maintaining his strong record against former La Liga adversary Mourinho.

Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho takes his seat at Old Trafford on August 26, 2013
Read Next:
Jose Mourinho: 'The best team lost'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Borussia DortmundDortmund11003033
2Bayern Munich11003123
3Hertha Berlin11002023
4Schalke 04Schalke11002023
6Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach11001013
7Hamburger SV11001013
9Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt10100001
12FC Koln100101-10
13Mainz 05100101-10
14Werder Bremen100101-10
15Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen100113-20
16RB Leipzig100102-20