Result: Mario Mandzukic heads Bayern Munich to victory

Mario Mandzukic is on target as Bayern Munich edge out Viktoria Plzen in the Champions League.

A second-half header by Mario Mandzukic has given Bayern Munich a 1-0 victory over a spirited Viktoria Plzen side in the Champions League.

The holders were quickest off the starting blocks, almost breaking the deadlock in the 16th minute when Bastian Schweinsteiger's low shot came back off the post.

Bayern Munich's Croatian striker Mario Mandzukic heads the ball past Pilzenīs Slovakian goalkeeper Matus Kozacik to score the opening goal during the UEFA Champions League group D football match Viktoria Plzen vs Bayern Munich on November 5, 2013© Getty Images

Plzen goalkeeper Matus Kozacik put in an impressive shift in the first half, denying Mario Gotze in the 27th minute, but the hosts gave as good as they got.

Their best opportunities came in the latter stages of the first period through Daniel Kolar and Milan Petrzela, neither of whom managed to hit the target.

Bayern came out swinging after the break, almost taking the lead in the 56th minute when Franck Ribery found himself clean through on goal, only to be denied by another good stop from Kozacik.

The German outfit's pressure paid off in the 65th minute when they took the lead through Mandzukic, who powered home a header from Philipp Lahm's cross.

Plzen's best chance to equalise came in the 76th minute as Petrzela's cross from over on the right flashed across the face of goal, narrowly missing Stanislav Tecl.

Gotze blew a golden opportunity to make the game safe in the latter stages, but one goal proved enough to seal maximum points for Bayern and fire them into the last 16 of the competition.

Bayern Munich's striker Thomas Muller reacts during the German first division Bundesliga football match between FC Bayern Munich and FSV Mainz 05 on October 19, 2013
Read Next:
Half-Time Report: Viktoria holding Bayern at the break
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen00000000
3Bayern Munich00000000
4Borussia DortmundDortmund00000000
5Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach00000000
6Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt00000000
7FC Koln00000000
9Hamburger SV00000000
11Hertha Berlin00000000
13Mainz 0500000000
14RB Leipzig00000000
15Schalke 04Schalke00000000
17Werder Bremen00000000