Result: Ten-man Malaga draw with Barcelona at Camp Nou

A late goal gives Malaga a 2-2 draw with Barcelona in the first leg of their Copa del Rey quarter-final tie.

Ten-man Malaga have fought back from 2-1 down to ensure that they head into the second leg of their Copa del Rey quarter-final against Barcelona level.

Barcelona players celebrate their second goal against Malaga in the Copa del Rey on January 16, 2013© PA Photos

It looked like it would be a comfortable night for the cup holders as they dominated possession in the early stages of the game.

Lionel Messi looked threatening throughout the match, having his first attempt on goal after 20 minutes, firing the ball just over the crossbar.

However, it was the visitors who broke the deadlock in the 25th minute through Manuel Iturra after the Chilean stripped the ball from Thiago.

Malaga's lead was short-lived, as Messi beat two defenders before curling the ball into the net.

Carles Puyol put Barca in front less than two minutes later, connecting with a Thiago corner and heading the ball in.

The opening 15 minutes of the second half were less intense, before Messi looked for his second with a strike from inside the penalty area and forced a save from Carlos Kameni.

Malaga had a chance to level the scores in the 72nd minute, with Sebastian Fernandez forcing a save from Jose Manuel Pinto.

The visitors played the final 13 minutes with only 10 men on the field after Nacho Monreal was shown a red card for bringing down Pedro, having been the last man.

Despite their numerical disadvantage, Malaga forced an equaliser in the final minute before stoppage time, Duda finding Ignacio Camacho for a header.

The second leg of the quarter-final tie takes place next Wednesday.

Lionel Messi celebrates a goal for Barcelona in the game against Malaga on January 13, 2013
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Barcelona 2-2 Malaga - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Real Madrid11003033
3Real Sociedad11003213
8Atletico MadridAtletico10102201
12Athletic Bilbao10100001
14Celta Vigo100123-10
16Las PalmasLas Palmas100101-10
19Real Betis100102-20
20Deportivo La CorunaDeportivo100103-30