Arjen Robben: 'Bayern Munich not in Champions League final yet'

Bayern's Arjen Robben celebrates scoring his side's third goal against Barcelona on April 23, 2013
© AP Photos
Arjen Robben says that Bayern Munich are not yet in the Champions League final despite battering Barcelona in the first leg of their semi-final clash.

Bayern Munich winger Arjen Robben has called for his side to focus and insisted that they are not in the Champions League final yet despite thrashing Barcelona on Tuesday.

The Dutchman's strike, along with a Thomas Muller brace and a Mario Gomez goal, helped the Bundesliga champions to a 4-0 win over the La Liga leaders in the first leg of their semi-final clash at the Allianz Arena.

"That is the strength of this team, we will keep focusing, there is always the next game. Let's stay concentrated, not talk too much and just play our football," Robben told Sky Sports News. "I think it is quite impressive, the way we played. We can be very proud of tonight's game, we deserved the win.

"We didn't give them any opportunity to play their football. We have a lot of quality in the team and we can also score goals. The key to our performance tonight was that we played as a team, we fought for every metre and it was a great game.

"In these games you have to stand up as a player and as a team and I was happy about tonight. The most important thing was that we kept the field very compact and that's why we didn't give them any space to play. We made it very difficult."

The second leg takes place at Camp Nou next Wednesday.

Bayern head coach Jupp Heynckes gestures from the sideline during the Champions League match with FC Barcelona on April 23, 2013
Read Next:
Heynckes wary of Barcelona despite lead
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Premier League
League One
League Two
National League
Scottish Premiership
Scottish Championship
Scottish League One
Scottish League Two
La Liga
Serie A
Ligue 1
Belgian Pro League
Ligue 2
Greek Superleague
Russian Premier League
Turkish Super Lig
3Athletic Bilbao00000000
4Atletico MadridAtletico00000000
6Celta Vigo00000000
7Deportivo La CorunaDeportivo00000000
14Real Betis00000000
15Real Madrid00000000
16Real Sociedad00000000
20Las PalmasLas Palmas100101-10