Sep 24, 2014 at 7pm UK at ​BayArena
B. LeverkusenBayer Leverkusen
Min Son (33')
Jedvaj (1'), Reinartz (41'), Spahic (51')
FT(HT: 1-0)

Kohr (39'), Caiuby (93')

Result: Bayer Leverkusen keep up pressure on Bayern Munich with Augsburg win

Leverkusen's midfielder Hakan Calhanoglu celebrates scoring the 2-2 goal with his teammates during the German first division Bundesliga football match Bayer 04 Leverkusen vs SV Werder Bremen, in Leverkusen, western Germany on September 12, 2014
© Getty Images
Bayer Leverkusen secure a 1-0 win against Augsburg to keep up the pressure on Bundesliga leaders Bayern Munich.

Bayer Leverkusen have kept up the pressure on Bundesliga leaders Bayern Munich with a 1-0 win against Augsburg.

The game proved exciting from the start, as Tin Jedvaj was booked within the first minute for a bad foul, before Hakan Calhanoglu blasted an effort just wide moments later.

Stefan Kiessling was then guilty of a bad miss for the home side, poking the ball just wide of the left post from very close range.

Augsburg had a good spell midway through the first half as Tobias Werner and Sascha Molders bore down on goal, but the deadlock was broken by Leverkusen as Son Heung-Min, assisted by Roberto Hilbert, drove the ball past goalkeeper Marwin Hitz in the 33rd minute.

Despite the occasional half-chance from Augsburg, Leverkusen were dominant throughout the remainder of the game and could have extended their lead further thanks to good efforts from Kiessling and Stefan Reinartz.

Roger Schmidt's side climb to second in the Bundesliga table, a point behind Bayern, while Augsburg sit in 11th place.

Monaco's French midfielder Jeremy Toulalan (R) vies for the ball with Leverkusen's forward Stefan Kiessling (2nd L) during the Champions League football match on September 16, 2014
Read Next:
Player Ratings: Monaco 1-0 Leverkusen
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen00000000
3Bayern Munich00000000
4Borussia DortmundDortmund00000000
5Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach00000000
6Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt00000000
7FC Koln00000000
9Hamburger SV00000000
11Hertha Berlin00000000
13Mainz 0500000000
14RB Leipzig00000000
15Schalke 04Schalke00000000
17Werder Bremen00000000