Aug 25, 2013 at 6pm UK at ​Vicente Calderon Stadium
AtleticoAtletico Madrid
Rayo Vallecano
Garcia (17', 90'), Costa (20'), Turan (35'), Tiago (53')
FT(HT: 3-0)

Martinez (72')

Paco Jemez blasts players after Atletico Madrid defeat

Atletico's Tiago Mendes celebrates a goal against Rayo on August 25, 2013
© Getty Images
Rayo Vallecano boss Paco Jemez blasts his players following their 5-0 defeat against Atletico Madrid on Sunday.

Rayo Vallecano boss Paco Jemez has criticised his players after they were beaten 5-0 by capital rivals Atletico Madrid on Sunday.

Jemez negotiated Rayo to an eighth-place finish last season, but he has admitted that it will be tougher this time around for "the smallest in the league".

"We did almost everything wrong. Therefore this is the result that has occurred. When you play bad and offer so little, it is not a question of improving one thing or another. It is an issue of improving the collective, the group, and everything they have done," he told reporters at a press conference.

"We have not deserved anything more than what happened on the field. When you play like we did here and you find yourself against an opponent as strong as Atletico Madrid, the best that can happen is that you lose by only five.

"The players feel as I do. Embarrassed, humiliated and hurt for what has happened, but we have deserved nothing more. We are the smallest team in the League. We have 19 others, then us in 20th. And nobody has entered that into their head."

"Until we are aware of this, we will not enter into a good dynamic. Thank God it was just five. We are the smallest in the League, the worst in the league is us. When we are aware of that, we can compete with anyone."

Rayo have taken three points from their first two games.

Rayo Vallecano's Piti heads the ball in his side's match against Real Madrid on February 17, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Vallecano sweep aside Espanyol
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2Athletic Bilbao00000000
3Atletico MadridAtletico00000000
5Celta Vigo00000000
6Deportivo La CorunaDeportivo00000000
11Las PalmasLas Palmas00000000
15Real Betis00000000
16Real Madrid00000000
17Real Sociedad00000000