Dec 11, 2013 at 7.45pm UK at ​Vicente Calderon Stadium
AtleticoAtletico Madrid
Garcia (14'), Costa (38')
Aranzubia (27'), Alderweireld (54'), Insua (66')
FT(HT: 2-0)

Josue (7'), Gonzalez (32'), Defour (37'), Martinez (41'), Mangala (78')

Half-Time Report: Porto edge closer to exit door

Atletico Madrid forward Diego da Silva Costa vies with Porto defenders Alex Sandro and Eliaquim Mangala on December 11, 2013
© Getty Images
Atletico Madrid lead Porto in their Champions League clash thanks to goals from Raul Garcia and Diego Costa.

Atletico Madrid have claimed a 2-0 lead in the first half of their Champions League meeting with Porto.

Porto were inches from taking the lead in the early stages when Jackson Martinez was offered too much space in the box to volley a cross against the crossbar.

Raul Garcia opened the scoring in the 14th minute as he created some space inside the penalty area with a clever piece of skill before firing an effort in off the crossbar from a tight angle.

Porto, who need a win to stand any chance of qualifying for the knockout stages, were denied again by the frame of the goal when Silvestre Varela headed against the bar.

The visitors were gifted a great opportunity to level the scores when Daniel Aranzubia was adjudged to have fouled Martinez after rushing off his line to challenge the forward.

However, Aranzubia made up for the mistake just moments later as he saved Josue's penalty.

Martinez was frustrated by the woodwork once again just before the interval as his deflected effort clipped the post before rolling wide.

Diego Costa doubled his team's lead by sprinting clear of the visiting defence before beating Helton and tapping the ball home.

Atletico Madrid's Brazilian forward Diego da Silva Costa gives the thumbs up after scoring during the Spanish league football match Elche vs Club Atletico de Madrid at the Manuel Martinez Valero Stadium in Elche on November 30, 2013
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Atletico 2-0 Porto - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

2Athletic Bilbao00000000
3Atletico MadridAtletico00000000
5Celta Vigo00000000
6Deportivo La CorunaDeportivo00000000
11Las PalmasLas Palmas00000000
15Real Betis00000000
16Real Madrid00000000
17Real Sociedad00000000