Arsene Wenger: 'Aaron Ramsey will win Player of the Year'

Aaron Ramsey of Arsenal doesn't celebrate scoring their first goal in respect for Cardiff his old team during the Barclays Premier League match between Cardiff City and Arsenal at Cardiff City Stadium on November 30, 2013
© Getty Images
Arsene Wenger says that Aaron Ramsey will win the Player of the Year award if he carries on producing his current form for Arsenal.

Arsene Wenger is confident that Arsenal midfielder Aaron Ramsey will win Player of the Year for this season but only if he can maintain his current form.

The Welshman has been in scintillating form for the Gunners this campaign and scored twice in the 3-1 win at Cardiff City on Saturday to keep Arsenal four points clear at the top of the Premier League table.

Ramsey now has 15 goals for club and country this term as well as being voted Arsenal's Player of the Month on the last four consecutive occasions.

"He has been outstanding until now. You want always to jump into the future but we have to enjoy the present," Wenger told reporters. "If he keeps playing like that, of course [he will be player of the year], but it has only been a third of the season.

"I have to treat him like the other players and give him a breather when he needs it. I want him to continue to develop, but he is so young you imagine why should he stop his development now?

"Let's not forget that one year ago everyone questioned him. That shows you that he deserves credit for that - he has turned a corner and he can continue to improve."

Arsenal host Hull City in the Premier League on Wednesday.

Arsenal's Welsh midfielder Aaron Ramsey celebrates scoring the opening goal with Arsenal's German midfielder Mesut Ozil during the UEFA Champions League group F football match Borussia Dortmund vs Arsenal London in Dortmund, western Germany on November 6,
Read Next:
Wenger 'wouldn't sell Ramsey for £50m'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Premier League
League One
League Two
National League
Scottish Premiership
Scottish Championship
Scottish League One
Scottish League Two
La Liga
Serie A
Ligue 1
Belgian Pro League
Ligue 2
Greek Superleague
Russian Premier League
Turkish Super Lig