Result: Sarah Barrow wins Britain's first female individual European gold since 1927

Sarah Barrow of England competes in the Women's 10m Platform Diving final at the Royal Commonwealth Pool in Edinburgh, Scotland on day eight of the 2014 Commonwealth Games,on July 31, 2014
© Getty Images
Sarah Barrow makes history for Great Britain by becoming the first female diver to win a European gold since 1927.

Sarah Barrow has written her name in the history books by becoming the first British female since 1927 to win a European diving gold medal in the 10m platform final in Berlin.

The 25-year-old secured a personal best total of 363.7 to reach the top of the podium following five dives.

Barrow was ahead by just 2.1 points over Italy's Noemi Batki heading into her final dive, but her twist attempt pushed her into the top spot.

Batki kept her place in the silver-medal position while Luliia Prokopchuck of Ukraine took the bronze in Germany.

Before Barrow's success, Charmain Walsh was the last British woman to gain a medal after clinching silver in the 3m synchro in 1958.

Jack Laugher at the Diving World Cup in China on July 18, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Laugher misses out on European medal
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole