Michael van Gerwen, Phil Taylor to play prelim qualifiers at World Championship

Michael van Gerwen of Holland celebrates winning a leg during his third round match against Terry Jenkins of England during the William Hill PDC World Darts Championships on Day Nine at Alexandra Palace on December 29, 2014
© Getty Images
Michael van Gerwen and Phil Taylor will play preliminary-round qualifiers in the first round of the World Championship.

Michael van Gerwen and Phil Taylor have been drawn to face qualifiers in the first round of the World Championship at Alexandra Palace.

World number one Van Gerwen will play either Ross Snook or Kim Viljanen, while 16-time winner Taylor will come up against John Bowles or David Platt.

Defending champion Gary Anderson will play PDPA qualifier Mark Frost, while five-time winner Raymond van Barneveld faces a stern test against Robbie Green.

Third seed Peter Wright will meet either Jerry Hendriks or Warren Parry, with two-time champion Adrian Lewis facing Sweden's Magnus Caris.

The tie of the round sees Kim Huybrechts face James Wilson, while Jelle Klaasen and Jeffrey de Graaf will meet in an all-Dutch affair.

Full draw

Mervyn King vs. Steve West
Cristo Reyes vs. Dimitri Van den Bergh
Ian White vs. Kevin Simm/Gilbert Ulang
Steve Beaton vs. Devon Petersen
Raymond van Barneveld vs. Robbie Green
Mensur Suljovic vs. Ron Meulenkamp
Michael van Gerwen vs. Ross Snook/Kim Viljanen
Benito van de Pas vs. Tengku Shah/Masumi Chino
Jamie Lewis vs. Mick McGowan
Peter Wright vs. Jerry Hendriks/Warren Parry
James Wade vs. Ronny Huybrechts
Robert Thornton vs. Zoran Lerchbacher/Simon Stevenson
Simon Whitlock vs. Boris Koltsov/Dragutin Horvat
Jamie Caven vs. Kevin Painter
Phil Taylor vs. John Bowles/David Platt
John Henderson vs. Andrew Gilding
Alan Norris vs. John Michael
Michael Smith vs. Ricky Evans
Terry Jenkins vs. Josh Payne
Brendan Dolan vs. Christian Kist
Daryl Gurney vs. Jermaine Wattimena
Stephen Bunting vs. Darren Webster
Joe Cullen vs. Qiang Sun/Corey Cadby
Gerwyn Price vs. Jonny Clayton
Dave Chisnall vs. Rowby-John Rodriguez
Justin Pipe vs. Chris Dobey
Mark Webster vs. Joe Murnan
Kim Huybrechts vs. James Wilson
Adrian Lewis vs. Magnus Caris
Vincent van der Voort vs. Max Hopp
Gary Anderson vs. Mark Frost
Jelle Klaasen vs. Jeffrey de Graaf

Michael van Gerwen
Read Next:
Van Gerwen, Taylor through at UK Open
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Darts on LockerDome