Phil Taylor, Michael van Gerwen win at Grand Slam of Darts

Phil Taylor
© PA Photos
Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen edge closer to the knockout stages of the Grand Slam of Darts with victories on Sunday night.

Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen have moved a step closer to qualifying for the last-16 of the Grand Slam of Darts after they both won on Sunday night.

Defending champion Taylor saw off the challenge of Mark Webster by a 5-2 scoreline, while Van Gerwen survived a Robert Thornton comeback to grind out a 5-3 victory.

Scott Waites and Ted Hankey remained in contention to progress through the group stages after they defeated Co Stompe 5-1 and Steve Beaton 5-3 respectively.

Simon Whitlock capitalised on a missed match dart by Kevin Painter to win 5-4 and he will qualify for the second round if he can beat Dean Winstanley, who produced a 100% checkout rate to beat James Hubbard 5-2.

Mervyn King averaged just below 100 to beat Arron Monk 5-3, while James Wade kept his tournament hopes alive with a comprehensive 5-1 win over Jan Dekker.

Phil Taylor
Read Next:
Taylor beats Stompe at Grand Slam
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole