Result: Yorkshire Vikings beat Leicestershire Foxes by 14 runs in T20 Blast

Yorkshire captain Andrew Gale bats during day one of the LV County Championship division One match between Yorkshire and Northamptonshire at Headingley on April 20, 2014
© Getty Images
The Yorkshire Vikings ease to a 14-run win over the Leicestershire Foxes in their T20 Blast encounter.

The Yorkshire Vikings have eased to a 14-run victory over the Leicestershire Foxes in their T20 Blast encounter this evening.

Yorkshire were sent into bat first and made a steady start to their innings, with Andrew Gale the main driving force as they passed the 40-run mark without loss.

However, Aaron Finch was soon dismissed by Ben Raine having made just five runs off 13 deliveries, while Alex Lees made a swift return to the pavilion as Raine caught him lbw with the very next ball.

There was no hat-trick for Raine, however, as Jonny Bairstow and Gale formed a decent partnership before the former was caught off the bowling of Jigar Naik with his team on 100-3.

Gale passed his half-century before eventually being dismissed for 55 courtesy of a stumping, while Raine got his third wicket of the night in the form of Adam Lyth.

Tim Bresnan and Rich Pyrah provided a strong end to the innings for Yorkshire, however, as they set Leicestershire a target of 169 to win.

The chase got off to a quick start with Joshua Cobb and Greg Smith leading the way, but Adil Rashid finally broke up the 61-run opening partnership by dismissing Cobb for 27.

Bairstow then gave Ned Eckersley a taste of his own medicine with a stumping, before Matthew Boyce (12) and Scott Styris (6) fell as the run-rate slowed.

Bresnan then finally claimed the big wicket of Greg Smith for 56, while Rob Taylor swiftly followed in the next over having made just two runs.

A huge final over was needed for Leicestershire to stand any chance of getting back into it having also lost Tom Wells, but they couldn't conjure anything special up as Yorkshire saw out the victory.

Varun Chopra plays a shot while in action for the Birmingham Bears on July 06, 2013.
Read Next:
Result: Birmingham earn first T20 Blast win
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Cricket on LockerDome