Result: Kolkata Knight Riders beat Bangalore by 30 runs to cement IPL playoff spot

Kolkata Knight Riders beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 30 runs to cement a playoff spot in the Indian Premier League.

The Kolkata Knight Riders have cemented their spot in the Indian Premier League playoffs by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore by 30 runs.

Robin Uthappa starred for Kolkata by reaching an unbeaten 83, which included 10 boundaries, while his opening partner Gautam Gambhir could only muster four runs.

Shakib Al Hasan surpassed a half-century to reach 60 runs before getting dismissed by Abu Nechim, while Ryan ten Doeschate closed the innings on an unbeaten six.

After Kolkata posted 195-4, Bangalore sent Chris Gayle and Yogesh Takawale into bat, but they were dealt an early blow when Gayle was declared out for lbw on just six runs.

Takawale boosted Bangalore's attack with a knock of 45, while Virat Kohli contributed 38 from 32 balls.

However, it was not enough for the side as they reached 165-5 after 20 overs.

Chris Gayle of Jamaica Tallawash during the Sixth Match of the Cricket Caribbean Premier League between Antigua Hawksbills v Jamaica Tallawash at Providence Stadium on August 4, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Royal Challengers see off Super Kings
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole