Result: India defeat West Indies at World Twenty20

India's Amit Mishra celebrates after dismissing Marlon Samuels of the West Indies during the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 match on March 23, 2014
© Getty Images
India win their second consecutive match in Group 2 of the World T20 with a seven-wicket victory over the West Indies.

India have won their second consecutive match in Group 2 of the World Twenty20 with a seven-wicket victory over the West Indies in Mirpur.

Having lost the toss, the West Indies made a modest total of 129-7 before India reached their target with just two balls remaining.

Chris Gayle top-scored for the Windies with a knock of 34, while Dwayne Smith (11), Marlon Samuels (18), Lendl Simmons (27) and Darren Sammy (11) were the only other players who got into double figures.

Ravindra Jadeja ended with figures of 3-48 with the ball for India, while Ravichandran Ashwin and Amit Mishra were also among the wickets.

A unbeaten score of 62 from Rohit Sharma and 54 from Virat Kohli saw India take control of the match when it was their turn at the crease, before Yuvraj Singh (10) and Suresh Raina (one) helped them over the line.

Samuel Badree, Samuels and Andre Russell shared the wickets between them for the West Indies.

West Indies cricketer Dwayne Smith hits a boundary during the first T20 match between England and West Indies at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown on March 9, 2014
Read Next:
Result: England thumped by West Indies
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Cricket on LockerDome