Andrew Strauss, Anil Kumble appointed to ICC committee

Andrew Strauss on August 20, 2012
© PA Photos
Andrew Strauss and Anil Kumble are appointed to the 16-member ICC committee.

Former England and India captains Andrew Strauss and Anil Kumble have been appointed as the two past players on the 16-member International Cricket Council committee.

Strauss replaces Ian Bishop while Kumble comes in for Clive Lloyd as the chairman of the committee, and ICC president Alan Isaac has praised the appointments.

"In Anil Kumble we have a new chairman who has unquestioned experience, not only as a player with India but also as an administrator with Karnataka State Cricket Association as well," Isaac said.

"I am sure that he will carry on Clive's good work and bring, like Andrew Strauss, contemporary thinking to the committee and both understand clearly the issues facing the modern game."

Strauss won two Ashes series during his 50-match tenure as England captain.

Joe Root
Read Next:
Root expects "massive challenge"
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Cricket on LockerDome