Ameen was seen to be communicating at ringside with IBF judge Michael Welsh in Washington DC.
However, Ameen has claimed that he was helping an ill Welsh fill his scorecard out correctly.
"I noticed one error and a subsequent error. I assisted him in correcting it without touching anything," he told BBC Sport. "I happened to look down, I believe at the end of the third round, I looked down and I saw Mr Welsh's score.
"I saw, I believe, it could have been nine, nine and nine - which is 27 all day long. There was an error. It might have been 26 or 28 but he was off by a point or two.
"I happened to look down and I said 'Michael, nine times three is 27'. He said 'oh my God' and corrected himself."
Khan's camp recently withdrew their appeal over the fight without giving a reason.
A rematch is scheduled to take place later this year.